Michigan’s roots and branches

Church historians and archivists are invited to a United Methodist History Convocation for recognition and training.

The Michigan Area United Methodist Church Historical Society (MAUMCHS) has been about the ministry of publishing and distributing histories of Michigan United Methodism and its predecessor denominations for a number of years. Central to their purpose is helping individuals and congregations become better aware of their place in the historic development that has made The United Methodist Church in Michigan what it is today.

The Society–which includes members from both Annual Conferences in Michigan–will sponsor an area-wide gathering of conference, district, and local church historians and archivists on Saturday, April 22 at Central Michigan University in Mt. Pleasant, 10am to 3pm.

This United Methodist History Convocation, with a theme Roots and Branches, will include:

  • a keynote presentation by the Rev. Dr. Chris Momany speaking on, “The Art of Hearing to Speech” helping past voices come alive;
  • an overview of the history of the United Methodist Church;
  • a workshop by both the Detroit and West Michigan Conference archivists — Rebecca McNitt (Adrian College) and Justin Seidler (Albion College) — sharing about their work and how the Archives can support the local church historian;
  • discussion of the expansion of the present Society to include church historians and other interested persons.

In addition, certificates will be presented to those churches that are celebrating anniversaries of 175 years and higher. Those churches will need to notify MAUMCHS by April 1 in order for certificates to be prepared. (Contact Diana Miller at diana@ddmiller.net or call 989-426-2644.) A representative of each church being recognized is invited to attend the convocation.

Historians of churches and all interested in church history and the preserving of it will want to attend.

The current officers of the Michigan Area Historical Society are Diana Spitnale Miller, President; Lois Omundsen, Vice President; Sharon Scott, Secretary; and M. Kay Mowery, Treasurer.

Click here for registration.



You Might Also Like